Naomi does not have long to wait, soon the messengers begin to return and shortly after them warriors, in groups of three to four, begin to appear crossing the empty wasteland surrounding the encampment. The gates open and they are welcomed, shown immediately to Anu and Naomi- some scoff seeing her while others look over her as though she is not standing beside the chief. They gather over the course of hours and soon there are over fifty men and women standing ready to hear the chief speak while the mountain smokes in the distance. “My children,” Anu clears his throat “This is Naomi of the Fire. Solara has given her the right to cleanse us of the cursed fire and now the dragon that slumbers.” Murmurs rise up and they exchange glances. “I did not send word to your chiefs for you to follow just this outsider, you are the warriors of your clans strong and true; I will not hesitate to send my best with you on this most dangerous mission.”

“Then call forth your warriors, chief. I’ll not hear you speak without them.” Anu glances over the man that had spoken, catching the eye of Uran and nodding. Within moments his dozen best warriors are standing beside their comrades, hand shakes and stiff nods are exchanged between the fighters, most recognizing each other from long ago battles and shady deals outside of small camps. The man turns back to Anu and bows his head in respect “Speak on, chief.”

“We have little time before Deldra awakens, with the mountain spewing smoke soon the liquid fire will come for us all while the curse of our people flies on silent wings over head. I ask of you the most noble of sacrifices, as most of you will not return from this. I ask you to march on our oldest hold and slay the beast within.”

“That’s sacrilegious! We’ll be damned to wander the lands if we do as you ask!” A woman painted with white paint holding a long spear shouts pushing through people. “How can you ask this of us?”

“I ask this of you for the future of our people. If Deldra comes again none of us will survive.”

“Fear for yourself.” The woman spits “We have done nothing to earn that creatures ire. Perhaps if you did not allow that outsider to put out the flames you would not be worrying about the end of days.” Naomi glances from the woman to Anu, the chief is not outwardly bothered by her words.

“Perhaps if you do not fear your death you will return home and not waste my time?” He offers, the woman’s glare hardens but she backs down. “Even your chief cannot turn a blind eye to the mountain smoking.”

“Father,” Lo approaches, Anu’s eyes flick over to her “There is a messenger from the outside.” The chief’s eyes shoot over to Naomi. “They are asking for her.”

“Send them away.” The human’s words surprise them. “Tell them I have passed on and cannot be located.”

“As you wish. Do you wish for me to take the letter?” Naomi shrugs.

“If you can, I guess.” Lo nods and walks off, the warriors look to Naomi who makes of point of looking away. Anu turns, blocking their view with his back and whispering to her harshly.

“Why are they here?”

“They should not be here.” Naomi shoots back, glaring “There should be no way for them to know I am here.” Her eyes flicker over to the messenger pushing his way toward her, eyes locked on her. With a growl she steps away, shoving through the crowd to meet the man. “Who are you?”

“A messenger from the Great Lord Alexender.” He offers her an envelope and she takes it, breaking the seal and unfolding the letters. A frown tugs at her lips and she looks back up at him. “What is your answer.”

“My answer is fuck off. How did you come here?”

“The fog lifted.” The near by warriors turn, stunned.

“Say again?” One demands, the messenger looks at him, unnerved by the larger man. “Say again.”

“The fog lifted. We can come to shore now.” Voices rise, the message being relaid in the native tongue before cheers rise up from all present.

“You need to leave.” Naomi slams the letter into the man’s chest. “Leave and forget you saw me.”

“Your king has called on you.” He snaps.

“My king? My king!” She screams “My king would not have slaughtered my family! My king would not have enslaved me! MY KING is dead! I denounce his son, I denounce his lands, and I denounce my loyalty to that pack of filthy liars, whores, and cheats! Now be gone!”

“If you will not answer his call then I have no choice but to arrest you and return you by force to the home land.” He reaches forward and grabs her, she pulls free, stepping into the crowd of warriors behind her. The messenger is not one to be deterred, he quickly steps forward, reaching for her but he is stopped short by a strong hand wrapping around his wrist. He whips around, his anger dying almost immediately seeing the terrifying look plastered on the face of No-mira.

“Leave.” He jerks him hard, nearly toppling him “Leave.” He repeats when the messenger opens his mouth. His simple word is laced with anger and the man nods, quickly freeing himself of No-mira.

“More of us will come Lady Livingston.” he snarls “You will be returned.”

“Leave!” No-mira shoves him hard, sending him back several feet.

“Never return to my lands!” Anu commands, the warriors suddenly looking like a terrible fighting force to the messenger after having experienced the force of just one man. “You and your kind are not welcome here.” The messenger quickly leaves and Naomi nods to No-mira, his anger lingering on her for a moment before he turns and walks away, ensuring the messenger has left the camp. The human quickly returns to the chief and he glares at her.

“I will explain everything, sir. Forgive me.” He nods and turns his attention back to the warriors.

“Eat, rest, and enjoy my camp. I haven’t the energy for this anymore.” Murmurs rise up but no one dares question him as he shoots a glare over them, daring anyone to step up and take him on in hand to hand, single combat. With that final glare he vanishes into his hut and the warriors disband, heading to find food and shelter while Naomi swallows hard, going off to find No-mira and someone to translate for her.