The brakes of his car screeched as he slammed on them in the driveway, the noise brought the occupants of the house running out the front door to see what was causing the commotion. “Where is he?”

“Who?” Darrel asks, annoyed by the interruption in his morning

“Giovanni! He left the b’n’b in tears this morning.”

“What?” The voice is shocked and soon Alexis appears wearing his dark sunglasses and a hoodie to keep as much light off of him as possible.

“What did you do to him?”

“Me? I didn’t do anything to him… recently.” York sighs.

“What was the deal you two made?”

“I release Lily and take Edward instead.” Alexis hastily replies. “I figured I’d give him the day before collecting.” There is silence, the man takes a step forward “Now what do you mean Giovanni is gone?”

“He left.” York repeated, with a annoyed sigh. “I can’t believe that’s how he planned to save Lily.”

“Well…She is safe.” Darrel argues drawing a chuckle from his employer.

“I hate you all.” York groans getting back in his car.

“If Gio is still here, I will find him.” Alexis calls as he throws the car in reverse and speeds down the driveway. “Antony, go find Giovanni. Spread the word, I want to know where he is if he’s still in this town.”

“But-”

“Don’t fucking argue with me, Antony. Go find him.” The other man sulks away, heading for his bike in the garage. Alexis watches him fire up the machine and speed off before marching into the house and flopping down on the couch, with Darrel just steps behind him.

“Are you ok, sir?” He asks, sounding interested in Alexis for once.

“Yeah, yeah. I’m fine.” He sighs closing his eyes. Darrel shifts from foot to foot. “Go, have fun out there.”

“Sir?”

“You asked for today off, go take it. Its not like I’m going anywhere while you and Antony are gone.” Darrel hesitantly leaves, closing the front door behind himself and heading into Greenfield to have a day to himself and maybe meet a lovely lady.

Alexis lay on the couch for hours, eyes shut and mind wandering endlessly before Antony returned, angry and sweaty. “I put the word out, and I couldn’t find him.”

“Thank you.” Alexis mumbles opening his eyes and staring at the ceiling.

“Why do you care so much? What did he ever do for you?” Confusion tints Alexis’ features as he looks over his shoulder.

“I care because I turned him. I care because we were in love. I care because he was a decent human and he’s still a decent being. He let me love him, he let me steal him away from the world and keep him all to myself.”

“I can be him, Alexis. I can be anything you want me to be, just… Just forget him!” Alexis laughs, a loud noise that fills the house and severs to humiliate the man in the doorway.

“What?”

“You can never be Giovanni. You can never replace him. I took you in out of pity. I gave you a job so you could feed yourself, not because I liked you or even needed you.”

“Liked? Needed?” Alexis sighs as he stands up.

“You’ve become a pain, Antony. I’m reconsidering your employment with me.”

“What?”

“You’re on notice, I may fire you.” He strides past him and up the stairs. “Or kill you. Either way.” Antony stands there in silence for a moment before storming out the front door, slamming it as he strides across the drive way to the staircase behind the garage leading to his apartment.

