Note: I have never had an issue with a customer when at work, on or off the clock most people I meet are pretty nice.

 

Work [screen play]

Wide shot of busy parking lot, noon

Jump to

Man [CYRUS] leaning on his car, playing a game on his phone

CYRUS, short black hair, energetic, brown eyes- retail worker

CYRUS [to his game]

No, no, no! Shit, come on!

CUSTOMER approaches as CYRUS angrily shuts off his phone

CUSTOMER, a tall, fat middle-age man

CUSTOMER [to CYRUS]

Hey, you work here?

CYRUS

[looks at CUSTOMER]

Yeah, but I’m off the clock.

CUSTOMER

Can you help me?

CYRUS

Sorry, no. I’m off the clock

CUSTOMER

Seriously? Lazy asshole

CUSTOMER turns and walks away

CYRUS

I’m the lazy ass? Have you seen yourself? The ground shakes as you walk.

CUSTOMER stops and turns back to CYRUS

CUSTOMER [angrily]

What did you say to me?

CYRUS [cocky]

You heard me fat ass.

CUSTOMER clenches his fists, face turning bright red with anger, CYRUS pushes off his car, a tad nervous.

CUSTOMER

Apologize boy.

CYRUS

Make me fat ass

A moment of tension, CUSTOMER grits his teeth, knuckles turning white.

CUSTOMER

I’m warning you boy

CYRUS

For what? What are you going to do you–

CUSTOMER punches CYRUS in the stomach before CYRUS can finish his sentence.

CUSTOMER

[looming over CYRUS]

Be careful what you say and to who.

CRYUS, fighting to catch his breath, smiles at CUSTOMER.

CUSTOMER [to CYRUS]

What are you smiling at asshole?

CYRUS [winded]

Smile for the camera, fat ass.

CUSTOMER looks around, panicked, sees the camera

CUSTOMER

Fuck.

CUSTOMER starts to walk away when he is stopped by MANAGER.

MANAGER, short middle-age woman with dark hair and dark eyes.

MANAGER [to CUSTOMER]

Stay right there sir, we have contacted the police.

CUSTOMER

You can’t detain me, I’m leaving.

MANAGER

You’re right, I can’t detain you, but we have you on camera, if you leave now the cops will still look for you and they will find you.

CUSTOMER sighs and stays where he is, CYRUS slowly gets up, leaning against his car.

CYRUS [to MANAGER]

Thank you

MANAGER

Don’t thank me, you’re in trouble

CYRUS [shocked]

What? Why?

MANAGER

Provoking a customer

CYRUS

[points a CUSTOMER]

HE punched ME, why am I in trouble?

MANAGER
I just told you

POLICE pull into the parking lot and take CUSTOMER into custody, CYRUS gives a statement and CUSTOMER is banned from the property. CYRUS still goes into work despite have been assaulted in the parking lot. Nothing comes of CYRUS’S fight with the CUSTOMER.

END

