Just a one shot, I’m attempting to get better at writing scripts for my own amusement. I basically made up the characters and everything as I went so not much thought went into it but its not terrible for a third attempt at writing a short script.

 

Button Seller

Sweeping shot of green forest

Zoom and focus on humming woman

WOMAN [TESSA]: tall, blond, beautiful, walking down a dirt path wearing a blue dress and carrying an empty small basket on her arm. Exits forest, enters colorful, busy fair; very loud with yelling, laughing, and music playing. WOMAN carefully picks way through crowd to a row of stalls selling buttons, fabric, thread, feathers, and other odds ‘n’ ends.

WOMAN

[stops at button stall]

Excuse me, sir.

BUTTON SELLER: tell, thin, brown eyes, black hair.

BUTTON SELLER

[turns to WOMAN]

Yes, miss? How may I help you this fine morning?

WOMAN

Do you have mother of pearl buttons?

BUTTON SELLER

[chuckles]

Of course miss, what size are you looking for?

WOMAN

Small, please sir.

BUTTON SELLER pulls out display box for WOMAN to look at, WOMAN carefully peers into the small box with its many slots all full of buttons. WOMAN bites her bottom lip, BUTTON SELLER looks up.

BUTTON SELLER

Not seeing anything to suit your needs, miss?

WOMAN

[shakes her head]

No, sir… Perhaps… Do you have more like this?

WOMAN turns showing BUTTON SELLER the few mother of pearl buttons holding the top of her dress closed.

BUTTON SELLER

[hums, turns and vanished into his crowded covered wagon]

Aha!

[returns with small box in hand]

Here we are, miss. Perhaps these will work for you.

BUTTON SELLER opens the box revealing a small handful of buttons identical to the ones on WOMAN’S dress.

WOMAN

[gasps]

Perfect! How much for them?

BUTTON SELLER

[both eye brows raise in surprise]

All of them?

WOMAN

If you can bare to part with them.

BUTTON SELLER

Well, I suppose I can sell them to you for 20 crowns.

WOMAN

20 crowns? For six buttons? You must be mad!

BUTTON SELLER

These are not just any ordinary buttons, miss. These are magic buttons.

WOMAN

[turns to walk away]

You’re mad.

BUTTON SELLER

[reaches for her arm]

Wait, wait. Please don’t go. I promise the story will-

WOMAN

[shakes off his grip]

Don’t touch me! You fiend!

SHERIFF pushes his way through to WOMAN

SHERIFF: tall, portly, blond hair, gray eyes

SHERIFF

[to WOMAN]

TESSA, what is going on here?

TESSA

This man [motions to BUTTON SELLER]

is charging 20 crowns for six buttons then latched onto me as I tried to leave.

SHERIFF

[to BUTTON SELLER]

Sir, I’ll not comment on your prices, but in this division we do not tolerate harassment.

BUTTON SELLER

I understand sir, but it was not my intention to harass the young lady.

SHERIFF

Intention or not, it is not tolerated

TESSA

[to SHERIFF]

its alright, I was just going to leave his stall.

BUTTON SELLER

[to TESSA]

Before you go, please allow me to tell you about the buttons.

TESSA

No, you told me your price, I care not for their history. Good day, seller.

BUTTON SELLER

But-

SHERIFF

She is not interested, sir. [offers TESSA his arm] Good day.

TESSA takes the SHERIFF’S arm and they walk away from the BUTTON SELLER left holding the small box with buttons within.

THE END

 

